I Saw the Sign! Or At Least That’s What I Tell Myself

I know that sometimes, things sound better in my head than they actually do when I say them (or even type them) and this might be the case; however, I’ll try my best.

First and foremost, I believe that I should begin stating that I was raised as a Catholic. Therefore, believing in a ‘higher power’ and believing that said higher power had control over everything that would happen not only in your life but the entire world was a common teaching to me. My mother is a very strong Catholic and believed that if you pray to God, Mary or any Saint, that your request will be met.

Here’s the catch: Your request will be granted; however, most likely not in the way that you wanted. In addition, if your request wasn’t fulfilled then it just wasn’t in your destiny and you have to trust in God that it wasn’t meant for you and that He has something better waiting for you.

Keeping that in mind, I’m an educated person. This means that I have come across quite a lot of literature stating that there is no God and that all these beliefs that we have are just things that we tell ourselves to make us feel better about the dreariness of our lives. I get that as well. We all want to feel better about our lives and ourselves so why not tell ourselves that it ‘wasn’t meant for us’ or ‘something better must be coming along’.

Why am I ranting about all of this? Well, needless to say, I often come upon major decisions in my life (as does everyone else) and when I come to such big decisions, I tend to want to give myself a few days (if not weeks and months) to think things over.

Recently, I was met with a proposal from the boyfriend to make a big decision. Immediately, I stated that I needed time to think, reflect and review. In the meantime, I came across what the religious part of me would call ‘signs’. Out of the blue (or so it seems) my father starts talking about the same decision. How ironic seeing as the boyfriend and father had no communication on the subject. Furthermore, I was browsing around the YouTube website and watched a video on becoming a self-actualized person and making risky decisions (if it causes you to grow) is something one should do on a daily basis.

Needless to say, I interpreted these occurrences as ‘signs’. The educated part of me said, “This is all what you’re reading it as, none of this has any relevance.” However, I (like everyone else) prefer the former idea of it being a ‘sign from the Lord above’. Why? Cause it makes me feel better.

Leave a Reply

