The Regulars

No matter where you go, you’re probably going to see a group of ‘regulars’ or those that often visit the point of interest.

It can be anything from regulars at the gym, a coffee house, a movie theater, doctor’s office… anywhere.

These people seem as though they are there all.the.time.

You, yourself, might even be one of the ‘regulars’ at a particular location. I know that I’m a regular at the gym… and Subway.

The people of Subway are probably really tired of seeing me there.

But there’s something about it that is comforting.

My work schedule has sort of been all over the place lately. I haven’t been in a set schedule so, that sort of throws everything else off as well. When I used to go to the gym, there were usually other ‘regulars’ there as well. We all knew about ourselves and the other people. We were just the usual group of people there from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. every night. It got to the point where we were noticing patterns of clothing that we all usually wore. I have a baseball cap that I wear every single time I go to the gym. Other regulars knew this. They knew what machines I liked. All of this is not in a creepy stalker sort of way, either. It was just routine.

Since my change of schedule, I no longer see my usual group of people. In addition, I don’t usually have a set time either, so I can’t even form a ‘new’ group of regulars. I’m just sort of in limbo right now with all of it.

But today, I got to see my regulars. I had the day off and I went at my former usual time and I saw the people there that I’ve seen time and time again. For me, it was a great sense of comfort and familiarity. I enjoyed seeing them because I knew them. Plus, it was great to see that they still go to the gym too.

There’s something about having a routine, pattern, or consistent habit that make it feel safe. I know change is a constant, but for those things that I could still do as almost ritual, is really great for me. It’s something that I know I can rely on and will always make me feel at home.

So for those out there who are my regulars at the gym, thanks for being there for me. I’m sorry I’ve been away but I’m hoping things will change and I can see you again soon.

As for me, I’m going to keep being someone else’s regular too.

Leave a Reply

