Give Yourself a Break

Sometimes, you just need a break.

I’m not talking about a 15 minute work break or a break for lunch or whatever.

I’m talking about time away to gain a little perspective and refocus on why you started things in the first place.

Sometimes, a break can be from a job, a relationship, a friendship, a project, a diet, whatever it is you have been working at for so long.

Recently, I’ve sort of just felt overwhelmed with everything that has been going on in my life. I feel like I’m juggling too many things right now and I’m afraid I’m going to drop one. Usually, I can do okay with this sort of stress and pressure; however, lately, it’s been really gettting to me.

I’m not talking about taking a vacation or anything of that nature. It’s more of just a simple separation to re-gain my perspective on things and to remember what my goals are and where I’m going with my life right now.

Some days, I feel like I’m just running and juggling and I’m starting to feel burned out by it.

I need a break. I don’t want to go anywhere because a) I don’t have money and b) I don’t have the time. But you don’t always need to escape to have a re-adjustment. You can do this anywhere but it’s allowing yourself to do it.

Letting go of everything and just being in the moment and putting everything else on pause until you remember why it is you got started with everything. If, after your minute meditation, you feel that what you started isn’t holding up anymore, then maybe it’s time to make a change. Sometimes, after your meditation, you realize “yes, this is why I did this,” then you can proceed with your journey all rejuvinated and ready to go.

But a pause is still needed; that break; that separation.

Occassionally, we can get caught up in everything that we forget and lose understand or purpose of things. That’s okay; life is rough and it sucks.

We all lose control sometimes.

But we must pull over, take a breather and then begin again.

Right now, I’m needing my breather. It feels like more is just piling on as the minutes are passing by and I feel like I’m holding my breath at times; like I don’t have a minute to spare to even breathe… or that I’m suffocating from everything.

Being caught up in everything I’ve lost control and I’ve lost sight of what it is that matters most to me. I have forgotten to take my coffee breaks and to just breathe and relax. I’m too busy watching the clock, scheduling, planning, rationalizing, makeing time, running around, making mistakes, etc. It’s just an endless list of things and it goes on and on for days.

But it has to stop and it has to stop soon… I just don’t know when. I don’t really have a day off any time soon to even schedule in my meditation but I’m hoping that it’ll be soon. My body is telling me that it has to be soon. I’m losing sleep for days and then regaining it back in other days. I’m so off balance.

My time will come though. But for those of you out there who are hustling and running around like me. It’s time we take a moment and think of ourselves and our lives. When we start to lose it, the things around us start to lose it.

Take a break; pause; reflect and breathe… always remember to breathe.

One thought on “Give Yourself a Break

Leave a Reply

