Closed on Sundays

I have been in sales since I had my first job. I have always, always, always, always, worked Sundays. I mean, I might not have been scheduled every single Sunday but, for the most part, the building was open and I was waiting on people on Sundays.

I have also been fortunate enough to live in small enough towns where people still respect the idea of Sunday being closed whether it was due to religious purposes or just for the sake of being closed a day to catch up or whatever.

There have also been times in my life when I never worked a Sunday (i.e. unemployment). During this period (and even now) I was conflicted with the notion of places being closed on Sundays.

There are some places that open only for a mere few hours on Sunday (i.e. 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.). And I’m somewhat okay with that too. I mean, I understand if you want to open just so that people can still get a quick something without having to keep the whole day open for business.

But, for the most part, I’ve noticed that it’s only Sunday when I remember that I need something and that something comes from a store that’s closed.

I know, I know… I’ve been trying to get my stuff done on Friday/Saturday and they’re not really THAT important for me to rush out and get on a Sunday but there are other things too. Like for a lazy Sunday, I wanted to get some pastries and a coffee. Well, guess what… all the coffeehouses and bakeries are closed on Sundays. Who knew?!

So, I just stuck with my diet and had a healthy breakfast. But! The point still stands.

I’ve always worked with a company that was open on Sundays and now that I’m not, I feel like no other place is either.

It’s just unfair like that.

But, on the brighter side of things, I’m still trying to get the hang of having Sundays off and I’m still working to make it a day of relaxation and reflection before starting off another busy work week.

Here’s to all the lazy Sundays to come!

Leave a Reply

