Achieve Goal Weight (#15)

On my list, there stands number 15, to achieve my goal weight.

I was very fortunate enough to have accomplished this goal in the time that I gave myself.

I am so very glad that I chose to do this because there was a lot – and I mean A LOT – that I learned along the way.

First off, I’m not going to announce what number it is that I have reached, that’s not entirely important. But, I will say that I legitimately reached it. In fact, I was under the goal weight (not by much, about .5lb but that’s good enough for me).

When I first decided to take on this challenge, I had absolutely no idea where to even begin. I searched online and everyone was talking about some new fad diet and all of the diet exercises known to man and then some.

What got me focused was my boyfriend. We were just going about our days and he was replacing a meal a day with something else in exchange. Whether it was a simple bowl of cereal or a protein shake, it was something other than a full meal.

So, I decided to start doing the same. I, again, had no idea as to what I was doing, so, I took up one of the ‘diet plans’. Now, which one I used, I will not say because I’m not sponsoring them in any way and, again, it’s not important. What mattered was that I was searching for something that I could do; that was fit for me.

Once I got that all lined up, I learned a hell of a lot about myself and about nutrition.

I can understand COMPLETELY how America is overweight. The diet that I was on consisted of 5 small meals a day… and I mean SMALL. I saw the first meal and thought, “There’s no way in hell this shit is going to fill me up… I’m going to be starving in a half hour!” But I still did it. I found ways around keeping myself away from food and away from feeling hungry. Plus, the smaller meals meant I ate more frequently, so I knew in only a few short hours, I would have my snack.

I’ve never looked forward to a snack more in my life.

But when I saw my snack and realized that it was just that – a SNACK – I thought, “Here we go again! It’s so tiny!” but – again – I knew it was only a few hours before lunch anyway.

It definitely took some readjusting and it was definitely hard… as hell.

You develop a sort of… self-control that you never knew you had. It’s hard to say ‘no’ to the chocolate cake, I know, but when you do (or at least when I did) I felt stronger; I knew I was working towards something better.

Now, I gave myself an off day.

My diet went Sunday through Friday.

On Saturday, I could eat whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted.

I indulged til my little belly felt like it was going to pop!

Sunday; however, I was right back on my diet.

One day and one day ONLY.

I didn’t want to deprive myself but at the same rate, I knew that one day a week of indulgence wouldn’t make me gain my weight back.

Eating bad one day a week will not make you fat just like eating healthy one day a week won’t make you skinny.

I don’t know who said that but I definitely took it to heart.

For the other six days, I was watching my diet and exercising as well. Saturday, I took off from eating and the gym; it was my rest day of everything.

Eventually, my ‘off’ day started to mean less to me. I realized that I was doing so much better with myself WITHOUT the junk food. Don’t get me wrong, I will never say no to a cupcake on a Saturday but I realized that the results that I was seeing made me feel A LOT better than the cookies I had on Saturday.

This whole new feeling was better. My clothes were becoming big on me; I was seeing ab muscles that I didn’t even know I had; I was starting to look good in my clothes… well, the smaller sized ones.

What was funny about it all was that I was ACTUALLY DOING IT! I was actually losing weight! I think that’s the hardest idea to grasp. Everyone makes the PLANS to lose it but when you do, it’s sort of surreal. You just think, “Me? Lose weight? What?”

But at the same time, my whole view on foods had changed. Since I was on smaller portions, I saw JUST HOW BIG other portions really were. In addition, when I started looking at the calories on some foods, I was AMAZED at how many calories can be in some foods. It’s unbelieveable how many calories I was eating in a day without even thinking about it.

I wasn’t listening to my body apparently. I wasn’t thinking properly about what I was putting into my body.

With this goal, my whole world had changed and I can not be more thankful for that than anything.

I view everything so differently about our society, the way we eat, the way we center our lives around food. It was truly an eye-opening experience.

I once read somewhere, “You’re not a dog, don’t reward yourself with food.” And I took that to heart as well. When I found myself losing weight, the first thing I wanted to do was have a cookie to celebrate. Why? Because a celebration involves food of somesort!

I gave myself different rewards when I lost weight: a new purse, new earrings, a new book, etc. Anything that wouldn’t focus on food and would continue to assist me in what I was trying to achieve.

Even after finally reaching it, I’m not going to celebrate with food, I’m going to celebrate by buying a few books I’ve had my eye on.

In the end, I think weight loss is definitely something ANYONE and EVERYONE can do. I think it’s the easiest task to complete but you have to be determined, self-driven, maintain self-control and disciplined.

People rarely want to work for what they want – and I can’t blame them, I wouldn’t want to either – but by working hard, challenging yourself, and remaining stern and disciplined, you learn more about yourself as well.

For those out there trying to lose weight, hang in there! You’re doing great. If you’ve fallen off the wagon, that’s fine, we all do. Get back up, dust yourself off and get right back on. You’ve got a goal to reach and you’re definitely on your way there as long as you keep trying.

Push on!

 

Leave a Reply

