Here’s Looking at You, Kid (#6)

On my list is to watch Casablanca. This is a classic movie that I’ve heard quoted time and time again yet I had never seen it. I didn’t even know what it was about! I just knew the catch phrases and knew that it was a famous movie. Period.

My mom got it for me once as a gift and I always wanted to watch it but, for whatever reason, never quite got around to it. Well, I put it on my list to make the time.

What upsets me the most is that I didn’t watch it sooner!

I fell in love with this movie at first watch. Humphrey Bogart is absolutely charming and suave. Step aside Ilsa, I would take you on for Rick!

Ingrid Bergman is, of course, beautiful. The time that it was filmed and the time period of the movie was just so glamorous for women… or at least that’s how it’s depicted… I know it’s just a movie. But, it’s Old Hollywood. Women were goregous and had such incredible fashion. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think I could walk around in a dress like they did in this August heat but I’m sure if I had no other choice in our culture, I would. Women were always dolled up and fancy. It’s amazing how far we’ve come with the perception of women.

But, back to the movie.

This is definitely a movie that I plan on watching again… and soon! It’s so romantic! It’s pratically number one of all chick flick lists and I can see why. Every girl wants a man like Rick who will love her and take care of her. He was all torn up and hurt too when she left! Guys play it so tough sometimes… it’s nice to know they’re softies too.

A black-and-white, romantic, classic movie is just what I needed when I watched it. I loved it and I encourage those who haven’t seen it to definitely give it a watch… and for those who have seen it… I think it’s about time to play it again ;).

Leave a Reply

