2 Years

I am quickly approaching a big anniversary in my life and with this blog and it’s this: My 2 Year Anniversary of Jagged Notes.

I can not believe it has been two years. I don’t think I wrote about my one year with Jagged Notes but I’m definitely going to write about this one because so much has happened with this blog that it’s just unbelievable.

Back when I started this blog, I was in a very bad place at the time. I had, in a horrible fit of outrage, deleted a “blog” that I had written in for seven years. I was beyond devastated and was so completely lost and was just… heartbroken. I still am. Every time I think about it I want to cry. I grew up with that blog and to have SEVEN YEARS of it just become non-existent was just the biggest blow to me. I wrote some pretty amazing things in there because I was comfortable with my writing.

When I started this blog, it was more or less to try to make an attempt to salvage whatever feelings I had and I have to admit, it was awful. If you go back to my very, very early days of writing in here, the writing was atrocious. I’m not afraid to admit the fact that I truly sucked at writing in this blog because I wasn’t comfortable with it. It wasn’t me, it wasn’t who I wanted to be… I was just a mess. But I knew I wanted to keep writing and keep getting things out, so, I did what I could at the time.

I eventually got into a rhythm and worked more into a pattern of writing. If you haven’t already noticed, my blogs come on Mondays and Thursdays and that wasn’t always the case. I was just writing sporadically and I would go months without writing then write for a week straight then stop for two weeks and I just didn’t like that. I wanted to establish a steady following and in order to do so, you have to be a steady writer. So, I set it on Mondays and Thursdays to start with Grace In Small Things picking up on Saturdays as a steady day as well.

I’ve tossed around some ideas of doing a quick picture post here and there and even thought about making it a steady Tuesday thing or maybe Sunday, but nothing ever really seemed to stick. Maybe in the future but as for now, I like what I have going on.

My topics were never really set on one specific thing because I never wanted to limit my writing. I feel that by having it strictly on coffee or food or books, would limit my readers. I don’t want just a certain type of person to come here so I didn’t want things set up that way. I do it all in my life (reading, [attempt at] cooking, watching movies, etc.) so I want others to feel free to stop by and try a little of everything in my life and hopefully add to theirs as well.

I tried to be honest with my readers and quite frankly, that’s really hard to do. Not everything I experience in life is positive. I can be very, very negative and cynical when it comes to certain things in my life. I realized that writing about it isn’t something others want to read. Positive stories go farther with readers than negative ones, which is understandable. But I was afraid that people would see me as ‘happy go lucky’ and that’s not me at all but, I’m not (or try not to be) a Debbie Downer. For the most part, I try to stay positive and stick to that as much as I can. I try to incorporate the fact that I am human and I can sulk just like everyone else but, it’s not something I want to be known for. I’m human and make mistakes and have awkward moments and everything in between.

I’ve gone through at least two lay-outs I think. I wanted to experiment with different looks and I’m still thinking of switching things around on here but for the most part, I like what I have. I try to make it as simple and chic and welcoming as I can with my incredible lack of knowledge on how to do anything else but click ‘select theme’ on WordPress. The ideas that I have for my blog on how I want it set up will most likely never happen because I don’t know how to do it! But, I’ll take what I can get and try to keep things as comfortable and true to me as I can.

The main change that has occurred has been with me. I’ve changed SO MUCH in two years I don’t think I would even recognize the person I was back then and I think that’s really great. I wouldn’t say that I feel 100% comfortable in my skin but I can say that I have definitely grown and aged in such a way that I’m beginning to really understand what it is I like and what I want to do with certain parts of my life.

These changes have clearly been reflected in my topics and I’m enjoying how that is going as well. I’ve set a lot more goals for myself, I’ve been a lot more driven and ambitious with what I want to do and I’m hoping that continues on as well. I don’t know what I have in store for myself in the future but I can say that based off of where I was two years ago, I’m totally excited to see how things are going to turn out and change. It’s definitely scary because the great unknown can hold many surprises but I’m up for the challenge and I say ‘bring it on!’

So Happy 2nd Birthday Jagged Notes! I’m glad this has turned out better than I could have ever hoped for and I wish only the best for the future.

Leave a Reply

