Feel the Beat

Sometimes life can get overwhelming. There’s only so much a person can take at one time. While it might not seem like a lot when everything is separated, it compiles into something extremely large and heavy. The problem that I have sometimes is losing my scope on just how to extract those separate things to deal with them individually. I see them as one giant clump and can’t see they’re just smaller items.

The best escape that I have so far is to my car. Not because I can separate myself from the environment in which I feel these problems live but because I have my soothing sounds in the car.

The weather has been quite awful as of late and it’s been raining. When I get in the car, I have to inevitably turn on the wipers to clear my windshield of all the rain and debris that has landed on it. When I turn them on, an instant rhythm begins: bump….. bump….. bump. The sound of the wipers moving across the glass. Bump…. bump…. bump. It’s so calming, like my heartbeat. It’s a perfect, slow tempo that I can rely on and expect. Bump…. bump…. bump. As if it’s whispering to me: Breathe… breathe… breathe.

As I watch the rain fill up and then get wiped away, I realize that is really what life is like. We get filled up with all of these little droplets of problems and stressors and then we wipe them away somehow. We deal with them; we clean them away.

Bump… bump… bump.

It naturally gets filled up again on days like these. Sure, there are sunny days when there’s no rain and no problems. But for days like these, when it rains, it pours. With the tempo becoming the soundtrack of the moment, I begin to sort out my thoughts. I relax a little more with each ‘bump’ and sometimes even get lost in the rhythm.

While my thoughts may take me away for a while to wander and ponder other thoughts, I always return back to the sound of the blades: Bump…. bump…. bump.

With no time restraints set on me, I sit and relax as long as I need and as long as it takes to return to my baseline. When I feel that I have calmed and have set in place a few steps to take to handle my problems, I turn the key to silence the sound.

When the beat stops I feel as if the entire world has been muted and nothing else exists. The world continues to move and turn but with no beat behind it to keep a pace. It’s as if the luster has been lost for only a minute. I exit the car and return back to the world a bit calmer than before and start over again with my clean perspective on my problems while my car parked outside gathers more droplets of rain.

One thought on “Feel the Beat

  1. Just wish to say your article is as amazing.
    The clearness in your put up is simply nice and that i could assume you’re knowledgeable on this subject. Well together with your permission allow me to take hold of your feed to stay updated with coming near near post. Thanks 1,000,000 and please keep up the enjoyable work.

Leave a Reply

