Swimming (#12)

Number twelve on my list is to do swimming. Now, I know what you may be thinking, “Doesn’t everyone know how to swim?” and your answer would be “no”. There’s a reason why people drown. I wanted to do swimming because I wanted to incorporate it in to my exercise routine. But you have to know how to swim properly as well as know the other strokes to really give yourself something to work on. Sure you can swim freestyle up and down the pool but wouldn’t you get tired of doing the same thing? I know I would but I don’t know any of the other strokes to do to shake things up. Furthermore, I don’t even know how to properly breathe and how to do turns… so, I took a class!

Yes, I am 25 and took a swim class… taught by teenagers… young teenagers to boot.

But I’m learning and I am very proud of myself for all that I’ve accomplished! It’s amazing how tired you get from swimming just half the pool! And no, I can’t do a full lap just yet. I can go down one way and then take a five minute breather and make my way back. But I’m still learning!

Some of the items that I picked up along the way were: a swim cap and goggles.

I found that these were very necessary for me because there’s a lot that can happen while in the pool trying to swim. For instance, if you go to turn to breathe and you have longer hair like I do, you’ll inhale your hair… and then choke… and then almost drown. Trust me, I found this out the hard way.

Goggles help because if you can’t open your eyes (like me due to contacts) you’ll start to swim crooked and you’ll end up in someone else’s lane and crash into them causing another possible drowning. Trust me on this one too.

When it comes to goggles, I’m going to tell this to you guys now because we’re close and I can trust you: Invest in your goggles. I bought the $4 pair of goggles and those suckers are okay but, you sort of get what you pay for. So, I invested and bought some higher end ones (nothing too expensive, they were $15) and let me tell you – it was a WORLD OF DIFFERENCE! These beautiful puppies are AMAZING! They have helped my swimming TREMENDOUSLY! I’m so excited for them.

Thus far, I have done 7 sessions and I have learned SO MUCH and have improved SO MUCH as well. It’s something I can say that it’s been tried and tested by yours truly and I would strongly encourage others to do the same as well.

I know there are people out there who might be a bit reluctant but just get in the pool and get going. I know I was afraid and it can be quite intimidating at times to get in and see a six year old swimming like a dolphin and I’m not swimming yet because I have to stand still and practice my breathing but things DO improve and you’ll be excited about the improvement.

I know the first time that I could take even just ONE BREATH while swimming was a milestone for me. For the longest time, I could only get one breath in. I don’t know why I couldn’t just keep going and take my second breath but it was a struggle. So, I stayed on one breath for a few practices and eventually, I pushed my way on to two breaths… and then got stuck on two for a while.

But I kept at it and I kept trying. You have to push yourself no matter what you’re doing. It might be easy to just stay within your comfort zone and never leave but growth only comes from leaving that little bubble you’ve put yourself in. Sure things might be awkward and you might goof. You have no idea how much water I’ve swallowed during these sessions, but I kept at it and kept trying and now, it’s something that I’m really excited to have in my life.

I know with winter coming up everyone will probably want to stay indoors where it’s warm but they do keep the pool water nice and warm too.

Just food for thought!

Leave a Reply

