Places I’ve Never Been

Whether we realize it or not, we can go many places without ever really going anywhere. You can be in about a million different places while sitting in your room. Our minds have the capability of just transporting us and changing the world and how we see it. Everything can be all shiny with unicorns hopping around and the next thing you know, you’re crawling (or it feels like it) across the desolate land of despair.

We go to places we’ve never been our whole lives. You can say, “that’s the happiest I’ve ever been” and you went to some magical place where happiness in its purest form existed… I forget what it’s called, I’m rarely there. Or, you can visit The Dark Tavern. A place I’ve been to one too many times. I’m on a first name basis with the people who work there… they even know my order.

There are a million other places as well. There’s The Land of Confusion. I’ve stayed there a few times. Nice hotels… ironically. The Island of Numbness. That’s definitely quite an interesting place. Oh! The Valley of Sadness. I’ve traveled through there a couple of times… it leads right to Acceptance Square.

I will have to warn you, there’s no map for these places. You sort of just wind up at one of them. Wandering through life, you might even stumble upon a place. Hell, I’ve been in a place before for 2 weeks before realizing it.

I try to avoid Moody Metropolis but, every now and then, I’ll take a cab there and stay for a bit. Destination Denial is a place many people go… it’s right by the river.

I’m sure you get my point.

Most of the time, we never go to these places intentionally. That, is the hardest part to really understand. We don’t know how we got there or even how long our stay is going to be!

Most tend to want to linger in their location. Again, not by choice. Sometimes, people up and decide to pack their bags and head back to Normal Nation. But, to each their own.

People might visit the same location multiple times. Those ‘frequent flyers’ sure are racking up some mileage. Others, upon arrival, realize they’ve never been there before. It takes a while to adjust and to get accustomed to the new surroundings. It’s not good to stay in one place for too long. You’re going to have to leave some time. You can walk out the door or you can go kicking and screaming. Everyone wears out their welcome eventually. Either way, no matter where we stay, we leave with a few souvenirs.

But don’t worry, the light is always on and there’s always a vacancy.

Leave a Reply

