Schindler’s List (#22)

I know it might seem a bit odd to want to have a movie like this on a birthday list, but I have never seen it. I’m aware of the Holocaust and everything that happened during it; however, I never saw the film and many described it as one of the greatest.

I have been to the Holocaust Museum in Washington, D.C. twice and I find it just absolutely horrific that this could happen to people. I would never wish anything like that upon even my worst enemy. How people were treated was just pure evil. I still can’t wrap my brain around this fact.

The movie is definitely a long on

e and it sort of has to be because there was so much that happened. Even the movie had to sort of skip ahead in some places because to go through everything probably would have made this an 8 hour movie. I know that it probably didn’t fully show just how sinister the Germans were to the people and I know there was a lot left out. I’ve read books from survivors and read other stories of those who are descendants of those involved and some of the stories I read just chilled me to the bone on the evil that was done.

While I don’t want to get too much into the history of things, I do want to talk a bit more about the film.

Liam Neeson was absolutely amazing in it. He played a character, who in the beginning, was just trying to do some decent business (in my opinion) and then, it all changed for him and became something that he wanted to do to help the Jews. I think he did a full 180 on his view of what was really happening. I don’t understand how a man who can decide to do such good had so much difficulty with his wife! But, that’s not necessarily relevant. The film is in black and white and I’m not quite sure how I feel about that. I don’t know if it w

ould have mattered if it was in color but, I definitely got the feeling of it being older so I don’t know if that’s what they were going for or not. Since there are parts of the present as well, I don’t know if they chose for the events to be black and white to separate those time differences. Either way, I think the movie is definitely very raw. There were parts that just stunned me flat out and I sort of had to re-group for a bit and get back into the movie.

I would recommend this movie only to those who are, of course, 18 or older. I would also recommend doing additional reading and not just watch this movie as a sort of umbrella for what all happened. Additional reading and research definitely adds more of a reality to what really happened, like I said, I know the movie skimmed over a lot of information probably due to time constraints. But educating yourself on the topic is, in my opinion, something I would recommend.

I would not recommend watching this as a date movie. I would also recommend watching this alone. I watched this by myself and I don’t think I could have sat there next to my mom or brother and saw this movie. It’s something that affects everyone differently. My mom definitely takes this to heart. Our family had members who were in the concentration camps and who have survived. I remember seeing my last name on this list of survivors at the museum and I started crying. It was my last name… spelled correctly and everything. Someone who is related to me saw that horror and lived. I’m tearing up just thinking about it!

So, overall, I’m definitely glad that I watched this and am able to said that I have seen it and can definitely agree that it is a very moving movie!

Leave a Reply

