Spring Cleaning

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was at the gym the other day and I put my headphones in and powered up the iPod. I have a playlist of songs that I usually listen to while at the gym but I decided I wanted a little bit more variety so I just put it on shuffle.

I spent about 90% of my time at the gym clicking the ‘next’ button because I didn’t feel like listening to a song while I’m trying to power through a difficult workout.

Finally, when I got home, I was irritated at this fact and decided I should do a little spring cleaning for my tunes. I locked and loaded everything in and realized I about 2,700+ songs on my iPod!

Granted, I have the same song on there like 8 times but still! I shouldn’t have this many!

Off I went!

I scanned through lightly and immediately removed the obvious songs that I don’t think I ever listened to more than twice and removed those.

The second scan through was by album and I just erased entire albums of songs because, let’s face it, as much as I wanted to like the rest of the songs, some bands are just one hit wonders.

After rounds three and four, I decided to sync up the new, cleaned (although not fully) list of songs.

The new number, about 2,200ish. That’s 500 SONGS that were removed!

500!

Holy hell!

I still have to do a few more sweeps through it because I went to the gym the following day and was still skipping through some stragglers that I managed to miss.

While I’m not really in a hurry to replace those 500 songs, I realized that while I was scanning through them – not too many good songs have been released lately.

Most of the songs I have on my iPod are from 90’s or 2K.

What the hell happened to music? I think since I’m getting older and the younger generations are what guide society now, everything has pretty much turned to crap.

I want some meanings to my songs, some really good talent, and just over all authenticity that I can’t seem to find anywhere these days! Good things are hard to come by.

I don’t really know what took me so long to clean things out. I mean, I know those songs have been sitting on my iPod for a while. I think it’s just something I’m doing as a new phase of my life and growing up. You have to learn to let go of some things. I don’t know why I had those songs on there. I think part of me just really wanted to like them just so that I could have new songs in my life that I could like. But when it came down to it, if I didn’t like it – I didn’t like it. There’s not much else to really say.

In addition to my music, I’m sure I’m going to be cleaning out some clothes and old habits. Time to get things in better shape and hopefully, keep them that way!

Leave a Reply

