The Great Gatsby Movie (#25)

Great Gatsby CollageSpecial number 25 on my list was chosen because The Great Gatsby is my favorite book and I was very excited and anxious to see how it would turn out. As much as I wanted to hate it – I loved it. I thought it was so beautiful… mainly because I think the story is. I think it has such great meaning, description, symbolism, etc.

It’s an all-around great story. I think that everyone has their favorite, and this just happens to be mine.

So, back to the movie.

I think Leo did a great job as Gatsby and, surprisingly enough, I really enjoyed Carey as Daisy. I think Isla did a fantastic job as Myrtle as well.

Tobey… should not have been Nick. Nick is our narrator, our anchor, our story guide… I didn’t exactly see Tobey. I just didn’t. I wanted someone more… reliable. I wanted someone more friendly and trustworthy… I didn’t see that from him. While I’m sure there are people out there who disagree with me, he just wasn’t my first pick… or even a second… maybe a third if need be.

The movie definitely stays true to the book which is really great. Yes, the soundtrack is modernized and you won’t exactly hear classic jazz but I definitely think it was a good choice to sort of modernize the soundtrack only because it’s something else that can make it more appealing. I didn’t have as much of a problem with it as others did. While some may say that I’m not being true to Mr. Fitzgerald or the book by saying that, I do realize that we are in a modern time as well, there has to be a little bit of compromise with some things. The costumes, the lifestyles, the set, was all very fantastic. Everything in it was beautiful and gorgeous.

I definitely enjoyed every part of it and I liked how the story was sort of rushed and just like the lifestyle was. It was reckless  crazy, and hectic. The movie definitely made the viewer feel the same way… or at least I thought so.

If you didn’t like it or disagree with me, that’s okay. I would obviously definitely recommend it and I will most likely own it when it comes out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

