Throwbacks

I was driving my mother’s car one day and there was crap on every radio station I had programmed in, so I began scavenger hunting around in the car to see if I could manage to find a CD or two to put into the player. Luckily, I found 8! Now, they’re all sort of just a fortune cookie of CD’s because they’re labeled ‘Jess Mix 12’, ‘Jess Mix 9’, etc. So I don’t really know what’s on a single one of them.

But, since I’m in the mood for music, I put one in.

I started hearing songs that I haven’t heard in YEARS! I mean, it took me back to some really early days. I don’t even know what happened to some of the artists that were on the CD. I will say that it definitely encouraged me to come home and watch a bunch of music videos of the songs. You know, back when they played music on MTV and VH1.

God, those were the days, weren’t they?

So, I’m sure you’re curious to know a few of the artists and tracks that were on these mysterious CD’s.

Now listen – before I go any further – don’t judge my taste in music, okay? I like a lot of different sounds and whatnot so, just let it go. Besides, I was younger then and these songs were popular to a young’n like me.

Alright, in no particular order:

Ja Rule – Holla Holla

Britney Spears – Slave For You

Lil Jon – Let’s Go

Willa Ford – I Wanna Be Bad

Backstreet Boys – Everybody (Backstreet’s Back)

Kelly Clarkson – A Moment Like This

Christina Aguilera – Come On Over

Usher – My Way

Monica – Angel of Mine

Jennifer Lopez – If You Had My Love

50 Cent – In Da Club

Missy Elliot – Get Your Freak On

No Doubt – Don’t Speak

Dream – Loves You Not

3LW – Promises

Alright, I think that gives you about a good idea that these songs are pretty much one hit wonders. At least a few of them are. Some of the artists listed are still somewhat relevant today but, it’s safe to say most of them have retired.

It’s just a phase everyone goes through I guess. You kind of just listen to the radio and go wherever it takes you pretty much.

Muse is a popular band that I listen to, Poets of the Fall, Gregory Page, Maroon 5, etc.

The funny thing is, I can still seriously remember a lot of those lyrics. I was actually very surprised how I could just sing along as if they never left the radio. Crazy how music is that way, right?

Okay, so, I’ll leave you with a throwback from the ‘earlier’ days. And since we are still in summer, I think this is very fitting! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

