Falling on Deaf Ears

I don’t know what it is lately but, it seems that everything I say isn’t heard.

Just the other day at work I had to repeat a story five times and still no one listened. I could have saved about 20 minutes worth of wasting time had these people just listened to me in the first place.

Even with family members, I feel like they aren’t hearing me… at all.

I can pretty much see the words flying in one ear and out the other like the Fort Pitt tunnels. But what I don’t understand is why.

Is it because they don’t find me credible to listen to? I mean, I was the younger one in every situation. But I’m almost close to 30 so, I deserve a little bit more respect than that.

Is it because I’m small? Short, tiny framed people sort of blend in with younger children. There are some 13 yr. olds that are hella taller tan me. They probably get more respect than I do.

Maybe it’s because I look young? Or maybe I sound young? I have a higher pitched voice.

Perhaps, it has nothing to do with me at all. Maybe these people are so set and lost in their train of thought that they don’t really hear the people around them. I know sometimes when I’m ‘in the zone’ and focused, I don’t really pay attention to what’s going on around me and sometimes I don’t hear when people are talking to me. I’m too busy focusing my energy on something else.

Or maybe, people already have their mind made up and set that they don’t even think to listen to someone else’s opinion on the matter. They hear something, come up with a solution and they are full-force on following through. Again, maybe they ‘get in the zone’ a lot quicker than I do.

But whatever it is, I don’t understand how people have become so wrapped up in themselves that they are no longer hearing rather important facts of what’s going on.

Have you ever noticed that people are either REALLY wrapped up in your business or COMPLETELY unaware of your existence. There’s no really happy medium. People, I guess, have a hard time differentiating when to get involved and when to back off. It must be one of those social cues we haven’t quite picked up on yet.

All the media around us states, “Let your voices be heard!” And I’m sort of left wondering because who’s going to listen? I have two prime examples when what I said was completely and entirely disregarded. I shouldn’t have to explain myself five times to people. And when they come to the same conclusion as me, I throw up my hands and look at them like, “What the fuck?”

I’ve learned to not waste my breath on them anymore. If I know something or find something out, I just keep it to myself. They’re figure it out eventually. For the most part, I think I’ll just smile, nod my head, and go along with it.

What’s the point in speaking if you’re never going to be heard?

Leave a Reply

