Let Your Hands Do the Work

There was a day when I couldn’t sleep. Okay, so I guess it was a night that I couldn’t sleep. I was up bright-eyed and bushy-tailed at about 3 a.m. I tossed and turned and was unable to go to sleep. Finally, at about 6 a.m., I decided to end things and just get up.

After I took care of some morning rituals, I decided to have a Monster with breakfast.

I swear it’s more than just vitamin B that they put in there. I’m thinking it’s along the lines of cocaine or something of the sorts. I got this burst full of energy and I wanted to do things I have long forgotten about – or at least I forgot about them.

When I was in college, I had a wonderful and great roommate named Alyssa. She taught me out to crochet. I will forever be in debt to this amazing woman. I knitted about a dozen scarves that year. Scarves were the only thing I mastered. I attempted a beanie but it ended terribly. (If anyone has a YouTube video on how to do beanies, please send them my way.)

Well, that was about 5 years ago.

Until that day.

With my ass buzzing with energy, I ran to Hobby Lobby and got a bunch of yarn. Why to Hobby Lobby, you ask? Why not Walmart? Because I was looking for a certain type that I know Walmart wouldn’t have.

Okay? Okay.

So, I started with a chunky scarf. I wanted to do some arm-knitting and it turned out okay for my first go. I mean, I’m still going to wear it even though it has some noticeable flaws.

But then, I wanted to crochet again.

I grabbed a piece of yarn and trusted in my hands. I crocheted so much that, at one point, I was watching TV and crocheting at the same time. My hands knew it better than my brain did.

The only thing I needed to do was to tap in to what my hands knew. I had to stop thinking and let my hands work.

Surprisingly enough – it worked!

It was like riding a bicycle or driving standard; it was clutch.

I couldn’t believe that I remembered how to do this after 5 years of not doing it AT ALL. I mean, I gave up on it completely.

I don’t know if it was muscle memory or the fact that my brain really knew what was going on and I was just over-thinking it (which I normally do) but I did it.

I sat back shocked and really quite speechless.

I looked down at my hands and was amazed at my own capabilities.

So while I say to let your hands do the work, maybe there’s a hobby that you have forgotten such as cooking or even knitting/crocheting yourself. Maybe the muscle memory is in your legs from a dance or a sprint.

Trust in your body and it will amaze you. Guaranteed.

Leave a Reply

