Ms. Negativity

I think we all know someone who is a complete Ms. Negativity or Debbie Downer. These are people who just hate everything and find everything to be absolutely miserable… every day… all the time.

Never letting up, either.

It’s amazing someone can put that much effort towards hating everything. What I find interesting is that people either join in with her or remain completely quite. There’s no one ever making that effort to change the conversation because they already know how it’s going to go: towards negativity.

For another inexplicable reason, people WANT to be around this miserable being. I’m happy when she’s not around… or within walking distance. Others, are asking her to go to lunch all the time, visiting her desk, texting her.

Like, really? Why surround yourself with the hate? Why would you want to hear someone else complain about how miserable everything is? Maybe they’re upset about something too and just want to wallow in the misery. I have no idea and I’m only left to speculate. But, it certainly does interest me.

I, on the other hand, try to make every statement positive. I don’t want to feel bad or feel miserable, so I make sure I create as much positivity as I can around myself. It’s rough don’t get me wrong, but I try. Which is another reason why I don’t want to be around this miserable human being.

Clearly, this has gotten me all stirred up. Most people are probably thinking, “Well just let them be miserable and move on.” And I do, I don’t let it bother me that much, but since this is my blog, I’m allowed to vent just this once about it.

I think the world already has enough misery in it. We all have seen the news, read the paper, heard the radio, or discovered on Facebook some awful tragedy that has happened. Why would you want to walk around and continue spreading the hate? Seriously?

Maybe she has a condition. If she’s ever positive, she’ll die. I’m sure it could happen.

While I occasionally overhear the negativity and experience the awfulness of her personality, I try to remember there are people out there who aren’t. Not everyone is a shitbag lik her. Not everyone hates every human being.

There are some decent people still in the world. And for now, that’s all I’m going to focus on.

Leave a Reply

