Has the Moon Lost Her Memory?

forget, forgetting, post-it, note, remember, remembering, reminderI’ve been forgetting a lot of things lately. I was reading an article not too long ago, and there was a company mentioned in it and they provided an abbreviation after it (e.g. International Advertising Agency – IAA).

Seems simple, right? As I continued to read the rest of the article, and IAA appeared, I had no idea as to what or who IAA was and why they were being referenced.

So, I scanned back up in the article and found out IAA was International Advertising Agency. Okay, good. That’s right, I remember now.

I read on and had to seriously force myself to remember what IAA stood for. I would pause on the word and not move on until I remembered it and how it fit in the context.

Now, this wasn’t exactly a difficult read that it was complex and I had to figure out what they were describing or explaining. This was a simple read on how billboards aren’t exactly the way to advertise anymore. Simple plot. Simple abbreviation. And I couldn’t remember it.

My boyfriend talks about things that happened with me and him and I have no idea as to what he’s talking about. My girlfriend brought up a memory that I can’t even remember AT ALL. It’s like listening to a story, and the story is your life, but you don’t believe it, because you know it’s a story.

I’m the real life Allie from The Notebook

What scares me is that I’m at work. I have things to do here and things to remember to do.

I’m sure you’re thinking, “Make a list! That always helps me!” Yup. I’ve tried that… and then I can’t remember where I put the list.

I have torn up my workspace twice now on the hunt for a list of some sort. I write everything down so I won’t forget it, and the next thing you know – there’s paper everywhere with information on it.

There was an episode of Grey’s Anatomy, where one of the characters, Izzy (played by Katherine Heigl) loses her short term memory. So her friends put post-its of information all around the room to remind her of certain events or key information.

I’m already doing that.

I have post-its all over my desk regarding certain information.

Now, before you start freaking out and tell me to seek medical attention, let me explain.

I still know who I am, what year it is, and who is president.

It’s just other random information. Such as, “remember to write a blog” type of things. In fact, the post-it that I had that note on it to remember to post… yeah, I couldn’t remember where I put it.

I knew I had something to do, but couldn’t remember it. I searched my desk top, moving everything around, and I found my note.

A girl in the office said that she was in such a hurry, and was so busy this morning. She thought she had everything, but couldn’t find her keys. She searched and searched, and finally found them in the freezer.

I know things like that happen. But for me, it feels like it happens all the time.

My mind is flooded with memories from the past so much. I have flashbacks and daydreams of the past. But, the recent past is completely gone.

I’m trying to forget the past so much that I’m forgetting my present.

As I look around my desk, and see my post-its, I hope that – in time – I’ll start remembering what’s important and forgetting what’s not.

In the meantime, I’m going to buy more post-its.

Leave a Reply

