All Animals are Equal

Animals, animal, animal farm, farmThere are leaders and there are followers. Leaders are often elected by a group of people. Some people just walk into a group of people and begin to take charge on their own; others follow.

But there is a limit that has to be placed on this dominance. As we’ve seen from history, blindly following someone can lead to terrible outcomes. Having someone in charge does allow for an organized working method. Again, I stress that there’s a limit on that dominance. Sometimes, that dominance becomes power; or at least perceived power. If this continues, it will slowly become a dictatorship. If there is no one to challenge or engage in creating a balance, things can drastically change.

For those familiar with the book “Animal Farm“, this is a prime examples of how a simple organization can merge into a full-blown take over.

I know that I’m probably taking this to an extreme, but it’s not like these people just woke up and were magically in charge of the world. There was a slow progression to the top. There are certain behaviors that sort of stick out. They are usually noticed by outsiders who aren’t directly involved. They begin to notice how small changes start to become bigger changes. How more and more people are getting on this bandwagon and supporting this person.

What I don’t understand, is that if it feels wrong, and sounds wrong, chances are – it’s wrong. We all know the difference between right and wrong (or at least I hope so).

I don’t want to go so far as to say ‘brainwashed’ but, the followers are really exhibiting some…whole hearted belief in this person.

I once read an article about the ‘good German’, which is about people who followed only because they didn’t want to get killed themselves.

Where am I going with all of this?

I would like to think that if someone came in and started ruling over everything in my group or area, that I would be brave enough to stand up for myself. I hope that I would be strong enough to get out while I still could. Furthermore, I would hope that I wouldn’t allow myself to become convinced by someone else to participate in something I didn’t agree with. Sounds better written than done, right?

I know.

Let’s just put it this way, there are things happening that don’t feel right. Others around this person are supporting it. Which kind of makes it all the more strange.

So I would like the record to reflect that I have written down concerns and actions around me on this date.

If I follow-up later with a continuation of this topic, you will know things have gone awry.

Until then… here’s to hoping 2014 isn’t the year of Animal Farm 2.0

Leave a Reply

