No Straight Lines Here

lines, curves, curvy lines, I don’t know if this has ever happened to you, but I’ll share my experience.

Have you ever been walking in public, and you have your destination in mind. You are coming up on another walker who is in your path. No problem, I’ll just shift to the left to get around her. Now, this person, as if on cue, starts to shift to the left as well. Okay, that’s fine, I’ll just make my way back to the right. Sure enough, she starts moving to the right as well. Frustrated, you give it one more try to start merging back to the left, and as you start to shift, so does she.

Now, you’re pissed off and just push your way around her, angry as can be because you’ve been stuck behind this woman and you just wanted to pass her.

It was at this point I realized the woman wasn’t walking in a straight line. She was sort of swaying the whole time she was walking.

Either way, I pushed it out of my mind. Well, a few days later, I decided to head to a coffee shop for a cup of joe. There’s a set of stairs that I have to go down to get to the shop. I start at the top of the stairs on the right hand side. I see a gentleman coming up the stairs. He’s on my left side coming up. No problem, right? Well, this gentleman was on his phone and apparently distracted enough, that instead of going straight up the stairs, he started rearing towards me. I’m going down the stairs completely baffled at how – there only being the two of us- and he’s making his way towards me. So, I keep walking down maintaining my pace to see how long it’s going to take before he realizes we’re going to crash into each other.

Want to guess how long?

We were face-to-face.

Then he realizes that I was still on my side (and he was not), and he quickly apologized and made his way around me.

Again, this person didn’t walk in a straight line. He even had a railing to hold on and guide him straight up, but no, he went wandering.

So, what’s the point of all of this? With the holiday season upon us, everyone seems to be on edge and going crazy. Apparently, we’re so crazed we’re no longer walking in straight lines.

Next time you go out, please maintain a straight direction, and don’t wander around like a mislead, and confused human being. You have a brain, use it.

And for God’s sake WALK IN A STRAIGHT LINE!

Leave a Reply

