Most Hated Question

I feel like I’ve written about this before, but as I searched through my previous posts – I didn’t find anything indicating I did.

But, either way, it’s always worth talking about.

So, again, I find myself unemployed. It was just a freak situation; no one saw it coming.

And again, I am back out there, trying to prove that I am worth it.

I’ve had my fair share of interviews, and I am usually prepared for any question they have: What are your weaknesses? What are your strengths? Tell me about your experience.

There is always, always, always, one question that I hate – hate – Hate – HATE – getting asked: “Where do you see yourself in 5 years?”

I kind of want to look at them and say, “Well, 5 years ago, I was 22 and just graduating college. If you asked me then what I would be doing in 5 years (aka: now), I wouldn’t have guessed in a MILLION YEARS I would be sitting in front of you… in this interview… and being unemployed…oh… and engaged. So really, it’s a fucking shot in the dark, wouldn’t you say?”

That probably wouldn’t get me the job.

But, it’s the truth! In 5 years, I’ll be 32. How THE HELL am I supposed to tell you where I’ll be?

Now, I know… I know… they’re just asking a ‘general question’ and it’s more or less asking you what you want to do with your future… in general.

And  I still argue that that’s a stupid question as well.

Does the employer think I’m going to say: Why! Working for you, of course!

Then again, I highly doubt they want to know that I want to, I don’t know, publish a book, grow out my hair… maybe even color it… oh, and definitely paint the walls of the apartment by then.

Since I have graduated from college, my entire life has basically been a roll of the dice. I graduated with a degree in English. The fields that I have worked in? A hospital, healthcare brokerage, mortgages/deeds, Sears, at a community bank….

Does anyone really think this is what I was aiming for? No.

Again, I ask… how the fuck am I supposed to answer that question?

Usually, my answer is horrible… I’m not going to lie, I bomb that question every time. I try to leave it as vague as can be with: I hope to be working at a place I enjoy, with a company and people I enjoy.

How about them apples?

In all honesty, if I was going to give it to them straight, I would probably be: I don’t fucking know. But what I DO know is that I need a fucking job…. now.

That’s about as honest as it gets. And that’s pretty raw, I’m not going to lie.

Maybe I should Google that question and refine it a little bit more.

Overall, I cringe at that question. No matter how many times it gets asked, it always knocks me down.

Not only it is my most hated question… it’s also the question I will never be able to answer.

Leave a Reply

