Over One Thousand Times

This is the amount of times my name was said today… and not in a good way.

I don’t know if they think that by saying my name first, I’ll pay attention more than if they just walked up and started talking to me randomly.

Or maybe they’re doing that whole ‘saying the name to memorize it’ deal.

Oddly enough, it’s my full name they say.

Jessica.

Not, Jess… Jessie… hey girl…

Nope.

Jessica.

Furthermore, it’s not as if they say my name, tell me what they want, and then leave.

They say my name, tell me some information, walk back to their desk, come back to my desk all of 5 minutes later, and proceed to say my name, and tell me more information.

Do you know how irritating this is?

Person: “Jessica, now be sure to send those copies to everyone in the department.”

…5 minutes later…

Person: “Okay, Jessica, we need you to scan a copy and send this to everyone in the department as well.”

…5 minutes later…

Another person: “Jessica, did you happen to put that order in by any chance?”

Same other person (while still standing beside me): “Hey Joe, can you make sure Jessica gets all set up for the rest of the day?”

Same other person (while still standing beside me): “Okay Jessica, he’ll make sure you get all the information you need.”

I don’t have a memory of a goldfish… I can ensure you that.

Maybe they were trying to be more personal with me?

Who knows!

All I know is that there are at least 52 people in my building and every single one of them knows my name now.

Well, that’s not true.

I actually ran into a person who thought my name was ‘Jennifer’ – which he was quickly corrected by some person 5 cubicles down from where we were standing.

And another person didn’t even know it at all. Shocker!

Which then, I was the one who said my name. That was probably the only time, out of over a thousand, that I was the one saying it.

After a while it started sounding like: Jessica, Jessica, Jessica…. Cinderella, Cinderella, Cinderella….

I’ll probably find some mice to make friends with.

By the end of the day, I was completely sick and tired of hearing my name. Furthermore, when someone said it, I instantly started to cringe, because I knew that whatever was coming next wasn’t something positive.

I had the mental image of:

Person: “Jessica…”

Me: *sigh* “Yes, Joe”, “what is it, Joe? WHAT DO YOU NEED JOE?!

But, as we all know, I came back from dreamland, and just simply answered, “Yes?”

I’ve always dreamed of becoming famous…

…just not like this.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

