Filling in the Gaps

I was filling out applications – which has now pretty much become my full time job – and I had to provide information on the gaps between my employment dates.

I don’t really know what these people are expecting me to write in those gaps. It would be safe to say that it would be ‘unemployment’, but I’m wondering if anyone puts anything else.

Like: ‘Traveling the world’

‘Fighting Slater with four of my friends named after famous painters’

‘Eating, Praying, and Loving’

I’m curious to really know some of those answers. But, unfortunately, mine was filled with ‘unemployment.’

How I feel about unemployment is really hit or miss. I definitely have free time to do the things that I want to do. I can nap whenever I feel like it. I don’t have to shower if I don’t want to. I can stay in my pj’s all day — which is usually what I do. I can browse on Pinterest as much as I want to.

I definitely spend the majority of my day searching for employment. Which brings me to the fact that I actually hate not having work.

Financial reasons is definitely one of those that suck not having while unemployed. But, it’s also the sense of purpose.

‘I have somewhere to be; I have something to do.’

I have something that actually keeps me busy on a regular basis. I can interact with the world. Sure, I can get in the car and go somewhere. But where is there to go? It’s been shitty out so I can’t go to a park. Money is now tight so I can’t really spend.

It’s more boring than you think.

You know that come tomorrow, your day is going to be absolutely the same… only it’s worse… because you’re still in the house… with nothing much to do.

I’ve been keeping busy by writing on here, reading, watching movies, napping… the usual.

I never thought there would be a day that I would actually miss going to work. I know it’s shitty, and I know it sucks. But it’s something. Trust me. It’s something.

So while I’m at home, I wonder if I could fill those employment gaps with the mini-goals I’ve achieved.

‘Blogged.’

‘Made some festive parfaits’

‘Worked on puzzle picture for three hours straight.’

‘Watched Maury and found out he was NOT the father.’

At least it indicates I’m being productive than the vague depressing word of ‘unemployed.’

Leave a Reply

