Leading the Horse to Water

I have a lot of people in my life who are just not willing to do something that will benefit them. This, confuses the hell out of me.

I don’t have a job, so I’m applying to get a job. There are others who hate their job, and when I sent them applications to other jobs, they won’t fill them out.

I’ll always ask, “If you hate your job so much, why didn’t you fill out the 20 applications I sent you?” The response: “Well, I don’t know…I don’t think I’m ready.”

I’m not asking these people to up and quit their job right now, I’m giving them a way out. They won’t take it.

Instead of seeing what’s out there, and maybe finding something they actually like, they’d rather stay where they are and complain about it… to everyone.

There are people in my life who say that they have money problems. Okay, I’ll list them 10 ways to save, and to change around their finances. Give them possibilities they might not have though about since they are panicking. Give them examples how I did the same thing and it worked. In fact, I know someone who can help.

They’re answer: “No… I can’t do that…”

Why?

If there was something that was making me miserable, I found a way to get out of it. I didn’t want to be miserable anymore.

Apparently, the people in my life love complaining too much to want to do anything about it.

When I was younger, I didn’t really have a lot of control over my life. I had to go to school, I had to do my homework, I had to clean my room. That’s the way my living condition was, because at 10, there’s not much else you can do.

Now, that I’m an adult, I have the capability of doing more, and also the resources to do more, so I’ll change what I don’t like.

Fear of the unknown is scary, but it can’t be any worse than the miserable situation the person is in right now.

I’ve been there for these people. I’ve told them the options they can take, I’ve given them the resources to make the changes they are wanting to make.

And I have yet to see a single one of them make the change that they are begging for.

I’ve grown up and have become an adult. I have to pay bills, I have to go to work, I have to find what makes me happy. Furthermore, if someone points out that I’ve been acting like a child about something, I reflect, say okay, and start making changes. I don’t want to be the same person my whole life. I want to grow and change. That may involve changing my surroundings and changing my job.

For everyone else though, when I say they are complaining and when I gave them help, they refused it – to stop complaining about it then.

This is when the person gets mad and finds someone else to complain to. Which, is kind of good, at least I don’t have to hear it. But, it also hurts, because instead of taking the help and doing something to make it better, they avoid it to stay where they are… and stay miserable.

The way I see it, I have half the barn out by water and not a single sip has been taken.

And there’s nothing more I can do.

For those of you in a similar situation… TAKE A DAMN DRINK!    -Thank you

Leave a Reply

