Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (#2)

Number two on the list was to watch Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. The reason? I’ve always heard people talk about it or reference it, or mimic the name in some sort of way. Plus, I had previously read the biography of Dick Van Dyke and was really interested in what he said about the movies he worked on.

CCBB is a musical (of course) where everyone knows the words and dance moves necessary to put on a really great show.

Released in 1968; I wasn’t even the twinkle in someone’s eye. I’ve been drawn to older movies thanks to my wonderful mother who introduced me to Cary Grant, Doris Day, Audrey Hepburn, and Marilyn Monroe. I also had, on a previous list, to watch Casablanca. It was truly an amazing film.

The older movies, for me, are just amazing. The women dressed up fancy every single day, everyone had manners, and love was shown as something truly pure.

The way some characters fall in love is rather quickly. In How to Steal a Million, I believe Audrey Hepburn’s smitten the very instant she meets Peter O’Toole’s character. Love at first sight still existed I guess.

While some people don’t really go for the older movies – some say they can’t do black and white – I think that it’s necessary for people to watch it. I want parents to show their kids these movies, because this was Hollywood. What they were portraying, living, and filming was something that was changing history. These are the true stars that people should remember for forever… not Megan Fox.

Anyway, I’m getting off subject. CCBB is an older movie, with singing, dancing, and completely unimaginable things happening. It’s rather long movie (and even has an intermission), but it’s one of those stories that’s one giant adventure after another. It’s kind of like Gulliver’s Travels.

I think it’s a wholesome, great movie. You can get lost in all the fairy tales of Hollywood, songs, and pure G-rated fun.

Leave a Reply

