Fifty Shades Darker (#15)

*WHAT YOU ARE ABOUT TO READ IS MY OPINION, AND MY OPINION ONLY. YOU CAN CHOOSE TO AGREE OR DISAGREE*

**THERE ARE SPOILERS IN THIS POST. IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THIS BOOK, AND WANT TO WAIT TO SEE HOW THE STORY UNFOLDS – TURN AWAY NOW.**

***I REPEAT, THERE ARE SPOILERS, READ AT YOUR OWN RISK***

Click to be directed to Barnes and Nobles regarding this book.

Okay, now that the formalities are taken care of, we can continue on.

I was hesitant to read this series, because everyone was reading it, and it was the biggest discussions of a movie, etc. My girlfriend (Chica) had read the series and encouraged me to read it.

I read the first book. I was not happy with the first book, and you can find my review of it here.

The second book, still does not help. It is a quick read though. I finished it in about 3 days.

I can understand why women like this series. I think that all came true in the second book. You have a gazillionaire who is incredibly good-looking (and in case you forget, Ana will remind you 10,000 times), has a tortured past, and of all the people in the world he chooses her.

I think on some level, all women want that. I think if you found someone where, money was no option to consider, and was extremely attractive, and wanted to be with you… all this happening in real-life remember… I think that is what every woman wants in a man.

Sure, you can say, “No! I’ll be independent and have a job, etc.”

Yeah, okay, you can say that. You can say that it ‘isn’t for the money’, but there is some part of you that is relieved that you will not have to struggle to maintain finances. This is something women are worried about everyday. Christen Grey sweeps in and takes all that away. He puts thousands of dollars in your bank account, buys you the fanciest clothes and cars. This alone would make a woman happy.

Next, he’s ridiculously attractive that all women practically swoon when he’s around. So, in real life, you open up the Vogue magazine, and find some sexy man, and bring him to life, and have him want you. Every woman wants to be wanted. We do. We want to know that we matter to someone else in this world. And look! He’s so sexy! How could he ever want me? Little ‘ole men. I have Levi jeans, Hanes panties, and a shirt I found on the clearance rack in Kohls.

But no, this man pushes all that aside and wants you! And he’ll tell you again and again how much of a goddess you are.

Then, the tortured past comes in. He’s had such a rough life before, oh no. He has frightening tendencies of writing up relationship contracts, requiring work out sessions, demanding to only speak when asked.

But no!

Worry not!

Because this man loves you, and for you – and only you – he will change. He will become a better man and into ‘the light’ and forget his dark past.

If you mix all that together, then yea, you have a perfect man. The Adonis of the world who is completely committed to loving you and worshiping you for the rest of his life. And he has all the money of the world so you need not to want.

Yup.

Women definitely want that. If you say you don’t, you’re lying.

This is why women love this book. Plain and simple.

—–

Now, moving on to the book itself, it’s horrible. There is constant repetitions of the two having sex. Which is really a lot of sex. I mean, they’re going at it, like, 7 times a day! But, no worries because Ana is just overcome with Christian and is ALWAYS in his throws of passion.

ALWAYS! She’s completely under his ‘spell’ and repeats it constantly. CONSTANTLY.

What really scares me is when they go through their ‘You mine’ speeches. Which they do every time they have sex, so…. a lot of times. Those words are careful words. What I mean by that is they were intentionally selected to use in the sentence. They have a reason; a deeper meaning.

Mine.

Very possessive. Extremely possessive.

Christian even repeats that to Ana whenever she’s trying to have some semblance of a regular life. “Your mine and I don’t want anyone else to have you.”

He can say it other ways, ladies. Don’t be fooled. He can say, ‘You’re with me now, so I would like to be a priority to you, not an option.”

Or, “We’re together now, this life is with you and me.”

See how easy that was? Careful words were chosen.

Overall, if you want to read constantly about a couple having sex every other page, and reading about how Ana is so overwhelmingly his (which kind of sounds like she’s trying to convince herself of it), Christen having mood swings more than you can keep up with, then yes, this book is for you.

Keep in mind ladies… she was a virgin when she met him. That in itself should say a lot.

As for reading the third book, I will probably do it just to put this series to rest; however, I know that I won’t be planning on enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

