Superwoman

superhero
Photo found at Honor Yourself Now website. Click photo to visit site.

When I’m temping around, I come to a new places with new routines, new rules, etc.

People in the company usually know I’m new, because they’ve never seen me before.

As a matter of fact, most people even make it a point to say, “Welcome, if you need anything, let me know.”

Friendly, right?

So, I get as settled in as a I can. I learn the crash-course of the job, the basics of it all. Then, I’m usually left alone. They walk away, because they have something else to do.

As I’m going through the day, doing whatever it is I need to do, I make mistakes.

I don’t know who these people are, what department they come from, I don’t know extension numbers, and I don’t know who Bobby* is that you need to talk to.

For whatever reason, the people in the office become these animals that begin to prey on the weakest one of the group.

They have zero patience for me. They don’t show me anything because, “they’ll just do it.” They take a tone with me when I don’t remember something ‘simple’ as where the forms are for this special need.

And, because I’m new, I shy back from it and just say ‘okay’, walk away, and go back to my desk.

I basically sit there and act as their punching bag for the day. Since I have to pretty much learn by trial of fire, I will do things wrong, and everyone gets upset about it.

I’m so confused at this, because THEY KNOW I’M NEW. Do they expect me to just sit down and say, “I got this,” and start handling things like I’ve worked there for 5 years? Is that it?

People usually bark, “How hard is it? You answer the phone, hit the transfer button, enter the extension, and then hang up. It’s that simple!”

What they don’t know is that people call and say, “Yeah, gimme Dave*, will ya?”

I don’t know who Dave* is, I don’t know who you are, and I don’t even know why you’re calling.

When I try to get this information from the person on the phone, they usually get frustrated and say, “Nevermind,” and just hang up on me… like it’s my fault.

It’s even worse when you tell them you’re new.

“I’m sorry, this is my first day, I’m still getting adjusted,” I’ll explain.

“Oh, well, isn’t there someone else I can talk to?” they snap back.

I’m thinking, “Well, yeah, I’m sure there is, but I don’t know their name, and I don’t know their extension.”

How am I supposed to be this Superwoman who just comes in and knows absolutely everything, about every company, every procedure, and every processing line for the company?

I don’t.

I don’t have a steel chest, I don’t walk around showing off my ‘S’. I don’t know how to do any of those things.

I’m just me. I’m doing the best that I can with what I’ve got.

If there’s a problem, take it to someone who knows the name, department, and extensions of whomever you want to reach.

 

Leave a Reply

