Madness

So, I met up with a friend for coffee. During our coffee shop discussion, she mentioned that she has amped up her personal safety tools. What I mean by that is that she is now not only carrying pepper spray, she is now carrying around a baseball bat… and brass knuckles… and a taser.

I informed her that she might be paranoid, but she feels that this is completely normal.

We started discussing the society and today, and how things have changed.

I also know someone who has his trunk full of bats, knives, rope, and other items to use in case of a zombie apocalypse.

At first, I figured that if these friends of mine want to carry these, that’s just fine. It’s their lives.

Live and let live.

But then John started watching these Resident Evil movies.

Okay, so…

Now, I know the probability of the zombie apocalypse happening any time soon is fairly low. But at the same rate… protecting yourself shouldn’t be a paranoid action.

I’m a small woman of 5’3″. If I were to be attached or kidnapped… I would be dead.

There’s no question about it. I don’t know jackshit on how to save my life. I don’t know what to do.

There’s all these magazines and shows that state, “If you’re ever kidnapped, pull a strand of your hair out and place it in every room you are ever in.”

But I never listened to those things, because I thought the world was a safer place than this.

I suppose once upon a time, the world was a lot safer.

I hear on the news that a 13 year old killed someone over a sandwich. Or a 16 year old killed a girl, because she wouldn’t go to prom with him.

When I was growing up, no one would ever think of picking up a gun and stabbing someone. No one brought a gun to schools.

Kids could play outside, in the streets, or in kid entertainment places (read: Chuck E. Cheese) without having to worry for our lives.

Today, kids have to be aware of their environment. Parents have to be on alert – even though most of them aren’t.

Maybe learning how to protect myself a little more is something I should look in to.

 

Maybe a little paranoia isn’t that bad.

Leave a Reply

