I Have a Person Who…

I have heard the phrase, “I have a guy I go to for ..(fill in blank).”

There’s a girl who ‘has a guy’ that does her nails.

There’s another girl who ‘has a girl’ that does her hair.

There’s a guy who ‘has a guy’ that does his tattoos.

Where are these people and can I get one?

I don’t have a singular person who does anything for me.

I usually go different places to get my hair done. I’ve gone to 4 different people for my tattoos.

It’s not that I have a problem with commitment, it’s just I never really thought it meant anything to be a loyal customer.

I grew up working in retail.

In retail, you hear the same thing, “People are looking for a product, we want them to come here for that product. When they find it here, they soon start to rely on us for other products. That’s how you build loyalty.”

Maybe it’s just me, but when my manager said that, I thought he/she was full of shit. Are you kidding me? Someone buys shoes here and they’re never going to buy shoes anywhere else? Ever?!

Please.

If I’m looking for something, I immediately line up three places in my head that might have it.

I don’t think, “Well, I bought this once before at place XYZ, clearly I’m going to go there again!”

If I know XYZ doesn’t have what I want, I’m not going there. Simple as that.

Or, if XYZ isn’t having a sale on what I want, I’m not going to go there.

I have loyalty to no store.

As for having loyalty to a person of some sort, I don’t have that either.

We are in a time and age where you can do your own research on anything your mind thinks about. If you want to get your hair done, you can now find 8 different places that offer the service, numerous reviews on each place, a showcase of what they’ve done, and a whole list of products they carry without ever leaving the couch.

You don’t have to go out to hunt and compare. Just look shit up.

If someone does my hair really nice, I might go back to them, I might not. Sometimes, I’m no longer in the area. I’ve moved plenty of times in my life.

Sometimes, I received a coupon for a place I haven’t been to before. I’m going to go there to use that coupon. But it doesn’t mean I’m loyal.

Maybe I should start working on that. Finding a ‘guy’ or ‘girl’ who consistently does things for me.

I don’t know if there are any benefits to it, but I can say that there definitely aren’t any benefits for NOT being loyal.

Hm.

Possibly, the next time I talk about a product/experience, I might just become a loyal customer.

Leave a Reply

