Where Do Your Loyalties Lie?

I’ve been struggling for a while to get a steady paying job.

I’m still struggling to find a place to lay down some roots.

So when I was placed on assignment, that could possibly turn into permanent, I was extremely excited.

Finally, I would have steady cash flow! I would still be able to look for jobs, but not have to feel a crippling sense of pressure to do so.

As soon as I was placed on assignment though, some things just didn’t make sense anymore.

While I was able to deal with certain rules that were pretty much completely unnecessary, there is always one rule that pissed me off.

I’m sure you’ve been in a situation, or have heard of someone else being in a similar situation:

You need this job, you really need the money, you can’t find anything else (and haven’t been able to for a while), but at the same rate, this company is taking advantage of that desperation by making you work ALL the time, ALL hours, with NO TIME OFF.

I was declined twice now to switch shifts in order to accommodate certain appointments.

I have never heard someone being told, “No, you can’t work half a day for a doctor’s appointment. You have to rearrange the appointment.”

Most work places have no problem accommodating this request. Furthermore, I wasn’t able to switch shifts so that I COULD still work and go to my appointments, but that wasn’t allowed either.”

I’m trying to understand how, I’m still offering to work, and yet you’re still saying ‘no’?

I’ve seen this in the past as well where it wasn’t me that this was happening to, but to others as well.

There have been some pretty damn good workers who have worked so hard and have done EVERYTHING for a company, yet when they ask for a day off, they are denied for whatever reason. And usually, that reason is ‘well.. because.’

So now, what do you do?

Do you still call-off for that day? If you do, you know there’s a chance that you could get fired. And if you don’t think you can, trust me… they find a way to fire you.

Do you put off your life for work?

For all the articles that I’ve read on regrets of the dying, 95% of them state that they regretting working so much. No one regretting putting in those extra hours that one Saturday.

But, at the same rate, you need a job (especially in this economy) to really live. Food is definitely still an important factor no matter what.

So what do you do?

Where do your loyalties lie? Do you do it for the sake of work? Do you do it for the sake of living?

How do you even begin to make these decisions?

I know that I can’t. I know that I’m someone who – right now – really needs a decent paying job.

Basically, my job has me by the proverbial balls. And I don’t know what to do.

But what I do know, is that I’m still doing everything I can to find a job that at least allows me to come in late due to a doctor’s appointment.

 

 

Leave a Reply

