We’re All Sad… No Really, We Are

I’m sure everyone has read the article about how Pittsburgh is the second least happiest city to live in.

For some reason, people are shocked by this. Others pretty much nod their head in agreement.

First off, I don’t know anyone who is really blissfully happy in general. The people in my world are too bogged down by debt to really even experience happy. As a matter of fact, we’ve come to re-adjust our standards of happy because of it.

I mean, I don’t know about you, but I’m pretty psyched when I get a good parking spot.

Anyway, the article states that people stay here because of the opportunity for jobs.

Now, I’ve been a temp for about 7 months because I was unable to find a steady job. Hell, I STILL can’t find a good steady job.

But, I don’t have enough money to really move anywhere, so I’m sort of stuck here.

I guess it’s a vicious cycle.

I’m not going to lie though, the people of Pittsburgh are assholes. Just face it. I know I live in Pittsburgh, and I’m an asshole too. You have to be. Try walking down the street and NOT seeing ONE asshole.

It’s impossible.

Even the pigeons have bitchy attitudes.

Does Pittsburgh offer some really amazing restaurants? Great theatre & art? Good music? A bunch of events? Yes, yes they do.

If an event ever comes here though, EVERYONE swarms to it, because we’re thirsty for some cheap fun.

I’m no longer interested by the materialistic. I’ve gone through so much in my life that it doesn’t really make sense to me.

But even when I’m trying to make a lasting memory, I can’t because I don’t have the money. In addition, I don’t have the time, because I’m too busy trying to make said money.

I know I’m not the only person in the world with these types of troubles. There are others out there who understand me completely and know how I feel. I know we’re all struggling to better ourselves so that we can have more in our life.

I was always told to work to live; don’t live to work.

At this rate, living is work whether or not I’m getting paid for it.

So what’s my point to this entire rant?

Charlottesville, Virginia.

It’s ranked the happiest place.

I don’t know about you, but I’m thinking about looking for some jobs down there. If they’re so happy, I might as well see what it’s all about!

In the meantime, I can at least rest assured that I’m not the only person who’s not happy – I live in a whole city of unhappy people!

2 thoughts on “We’re All Sad… No Really, We Are

Leave a Reply

