Concerts, Malls & Parties, Oh My!

John and I went to a concert earlier this year.

In this whole entire sea of people, you get to see a lot.

We were sitting on our blanket enjoying the opening act, and I was watching some people that walked by us.

Maybe it’s just me, but when I’m going out in pubic I make sure that I look like a decent human being.

Some others… I don’t know what they are thinking.

It’s rare that the people you see at the concert dress like that on a normal basis.

So, if you are going to put yourself out there, for the world to see, THIS is what you chose to wear.

I see people dressed in some of the most craziest outfits.

People have the craziest hairstyles, clothing, tattoos, etc.

And when I see them, I think, ” What are they trying to convey?”

Do they dress like that to show off how much of an ‘outsider’?

Do they wear barely anything, because they are looking to get laid or find a soul mate?

Then you’ll see a group of girls, or guys, who are all dressed the same. It goes like this, “Aw, you’re wearing that? That’s so cute! I want to wear it too!”

And so they do.

Personally, I try to go in comfort. I’m usually in a tank top so that if I buy a shirt there, I can just put it on right there, and not worry about carrying it.

As far as the rest of the people, I have no idea what they are thinking.

This also occurs at malls. If you go to the mall for any reason, you will see the same sea of people wearing the same outfits either to stand out, or show off, or turn heads.

I understand that yes, people care about fashion and looks, but to go out of your way to dress in a certain manner, there’s a bit of curiosity.

Parties are the same. But people at parties are often looking for a new partner. Everyone wants to put out their best version of themselves – or maybe for the sake of shock – and we intentionally do it.

I’m not talking about your average person, I’m talking about these people who go extreme on their looks. I’ve even seen people in full costume makeup.

People don’t dress like that when they are going to the bank… or unless they are stopping at the bank before heading to the concert.

I know we shouldn’t judge, assume, or stereotype, but when you see these people, they are INTENTIONALLY trying to fit into those categories.

While there’s no reason for this rant, I just want you to keep your eyes open the next time you’re out in public take a look around and see all the people around you and try to figure out what they are trying to portray to the world.

Leave a Reply

