Learn How to Change a Tire (#9)

How to Change a Tire CollageIn a previous blog I had about 30 Things You Should Know Before 30, I realized that I didn’t know how to change a tire.

And that is how this task made the list. And trust me, it’s a hard list to get on.

I called on Chica who is a bit more car savvy than I am, and she walked me through some of the basics on how to change a tire. While we never got the tire off due to a safety lug nut, I pretty much got the idea of what I need to do to take it off, and put a new one on.

I know I can call AAA, and have my car towed, but I wanted to know how to do something that is really pretty basic, and tends to happen to me… a lot.

My dad never taught me how to change a tire, because he still lives in his day & age. He thinks that girls shouldn’t know how to do those types of things. There are men in the world for that. And while I do appreciate him thinking that I will someday find my prince charming, I still lived in the real world. And in the real world, girls know how to do shit. Roles of women have drastically changed, and I don’t think my dad is totally on board with that idea.

Either way, I wanted to become just a little bit more self-sufficient. I know I am more than capable of taking care of myself, but learning a little bit more never hurts.

 

Leave a Reply

