Get a Pedicure (#16)

toesiesGirls and women have to fill all sorts of roles.

A girl must know how to change a tire, bake, raise children, and be the bread-winner of the house all at the same time.

But sometimes, it’s nice to just be a girl.

We have certain advantages that men don’t. For starters, women can get pedicures.

Men’s feet hurt too, we all know that. But they can’t exactly go get a pedicure now can they? I mean, they are fully capable, but we’re not going to see it happen any time soon.

So, I thought I might as well take advantage of being girly.

I have never had a pedicure, and after a grueling hour of trying to change a tire, a pedicure felt really good.

It was one hell of a day!

Okay, I’m going to put this out there, I don’t like my feet. I just don’t. I hate touching my feet. Only in the summer do people really see my feet. And by time summer comes around, my feet are REALLY JACKED UP.

Cold weather just murders everything for me. My hair, my skin, my workouts.

I’m not a fan of the cold either. Cold, crusty feet, just…. no. I’m not touching them.

Having someone else touch them is even weirder of a thought. In all of history, we have known that those who clean other people’s feet, are not exactly respected. And when I think of pedicures, I think of that as well. Someone else touching my feet just makes me feel like I’m belittling someone.

Feet are dirty, and I’m having someone else take care of them.

It’s for this purpose that I wanted to at least try it. Everyone said they were really awesome, and they try to get them as often as they can afford. For me, it’s back massages. Give me one of those and you have my heart.

But for the feet… I wanted to try.

I have to say, it’s a different experience. There’s a whole process to doing things! And next to me, was another woman getting a pedicure as well.

So, I often looked down to see the two women who were doing our feet talking to each other as well. For me, this helped, because it kind of made me feel…okay. I don’t know how to explain it, but it just made me feel better to know that these two women were too into their talking and conversation to really be paying attention to the fact they were rubbing feet.

None of that made sense.

I think it’s like scrubbing the kitchen floor. It sucks, and it’s hard work, but if you have someone else there… it’s not so bad. You get distracted by talking, and the next thing you know, the floor is clean.

Needless to say, I probably won’t be getting them too often. I’m glad that I at least got to experience it, and can now make the judgment on my own.

It’s a new experience, and another one down on the list 🙂

Leave a Reply

