Why I Would Make a Terrible Teacher

I was assigned a new employee for a few hours to give him a feel for what he would be doing now he is on the job.

It was at this point I realized I would make a terrible teacher. I never wanted to teach. Ever. When I went into English, everyone assumed that was what I wanted to do – or was going to do.

No. Nope. Never.

Once upon a time, I was a new employee. The trainer I had was a nice girl. A lot younger than me. She made the job seem like it was this great place to work at. Everyone was nice, they had so much fun together, they did all these awesome outings.

About four months later, my trainer had left the job. Turns out, the job sucked – and she knew that. So now, I’m stuck at the job that sucks.

I ran into her about 8 months later at another place. She told me how awesome it was, and how I should apply. Since she knew me, she said she would give me this great recommendation.

Did you think I applied there?

Hell no.

She lied to me once… that was enough.

So when I have my person to ‘train’, I’m not going to lie about a damn thing. If he asks me a question, I’m going to give it to him straight.

If he asked me why everyone is so stressed around here, I’m going to tell him.

If a person is going to be spending 40+ hours a week at a job, he/she better know what’s in store. If it’s early on, and the job turns out to be something that isn’t worth it – then leave it.

Don’t put yourself through hell if you don’t have to. If a job turns into something you must rely on to live, then that job will make you miserable. Your employers know that you need that job, they know you REALLY NEED that job, so they are going to use that to their advantage.

If you don’t believe me, find someone you work with who is in that position, and ask that question.

In my short amount of time, I have seen people just quit about a month into the job, because it wasn’t what they thought it was going to be. And that is fine. There is nothing wrong with wanting to be happy with the job you have or want to have.

I would also like to mention that I don’t make the job sound like a living hell. It’s not a living hell. Is it stressful? Yes. Are there rough deadlines? Absolutely. Will there be a lot of pressure put on you? Sure will!

These are things that are going to effect you from day-to-day. Is it rough at times? Yup. Does it cause frustration? Absolutely! If you feel like this isn’t something for you, you should find out sooner rather than later.

When it came to me studying English, I knew that I didn’t want to teach it, because there isn’t a very strong need for it in life. Now, I’m talking about English. I’m not talking about reading. Reading literature books isn’t necessary in life. If you haven’t read Brave New World, it’s not going to stop you from getting a job. It’s not going to stop you from making money, or getting health insurance.

I’m talking about knowing what a verb is. If you don’t know what a verb is, you can still get a job, make money, get health insurance, etc. So if I wanted to consider being an English teacher, I have to make it so that children understand why this is important.

English is different from math. Math is important, because you need to spend and save money effectively to be able to live and afford shelter, food, clothes, etc.

English is different. You can make simple sentences and live. You don’t need to know thousands of adjectives. You don’t need to know a multitude of synonyms.

So if a teenager says, “Why do I need to know what adjectives are?” the only real answer I have is to say, “To describe something more accurately or precisely.”

And that’s about it, folks.

Why is that important? I don’t know. In life, nothing really depends on whether or not you have a larger vocabulary than someone else. I mean, unless you want to be an English teacher.

Knowing English is to only better oneself. If you know how to read, or understand a larger variety of words, then when you read, those stories and ideas can influence you. You might read something and find a new desire to want to start to garden. If you want to continue your gardening, you might read more gardening books. And now, you know how to garden. Reading Shakespeare doesn’t mean you’re a better candidate as a sales person than someone else.

So whether it comes to teaching someone English, or even teaching someone how to do a simple 9 to 5 job, I’m not going to lie to them, or make things seem better than they actually are if it isn’t true.

Come to think of it, I don’t know if that makes me a bad teacher… or a really good one?

Leave a Reply

