I Woke Up Late

Have you ever been living your life… just as usual, and then, something happens.

You write a check, you fill out a form, or you pass an electric billboard, and you realize what day it is.

It was only the other day, that I signed off on a request, and realized it was January 16th.

I had no idea what had happened to the first half of the month.

I’m sure I lived it; however, I don’t remember a single day of anything that happened.

It’s like I just woke up late in the middle of the month!

And even now, the days are flying by, and I can barely keep up with it!

As a matter of fact, I’m still dizzy over the fact it is 2015. I remember it happening, and I was there, but it still feels like it should be October of 2014!

How does this happen? How do the days fly by like this? We’re almost at the end of the first month of the new year.

And it makes starting things harder. For example, we’re trying to figure out our honeymoon. We know we have less than 10 months, and while that seems like a lot of time… it really isn’t.

We are actually on a serious deadline. Seriously.

So while we think we might have all the time in the world, all that time is flying by. At an extremely rapid rate.

And I’m trying to gain control of the time that is just slipping by, but I’m not getting a good grip on things.

My hands are slipping, and I’m scared. I’m scared that I will plan all these things for myself, and all these goals I want to achieve, and time is just going to go by waaay to fast.

I think this is what adults talked about when they said, “Time flies.”

They probably had all these dreams too. But then Time just took over and everything was over before they even knew it began.

So hopefully, I will try – try my very best – to realize time is slipping away. I will put some chalk on my hands, and take a solid grip on time and my life, and get my shit together before it’s all over.

Leave a Reply

