(#15) Cool Hand Luke

I like older movies.

I love Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Move Over, Darling, Rear Window, Charade, Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, etc.

I don’t mind the stories, the lack of CGI, the lack of obscenities, and a ton more glamour.

But when it came to Cool Hand Luke, I think I missed something. I understand the story. The whole movie is about a man who rebels against the life of a prisoner. Naturally, he tries to escape numerous times, and by doing so, gives hope to his other inmates.

And that’s about it.

The main point I don’t understand is, at the beginning, Luke gets sentenced 4 years. At least that’s what I think, because there was a whole speech about how they were lucky since others have 20 year sentences.

So my question is, why not just suck it up for 4 years and leave?

Compared to the 20 year sentences of others, I would consider myself lucky, do my time and get out. But for Luke, he doesn’t want to wait that long, so he attempts his escapes.

In the meantime, he decides to eat about 58 eggs while there. Which, again, isn’t something that makes any sense to me.

But, then again, maybe it’s not supposed to.

There have been times in my life when I have been bored. Never once have I thought to eat about 60 eggs, because it was something to do.

And most of those times, I was younger… when I had an active imagination, and SHOULD HAVE had ideas about eating a bunch of eggs.

Instead, a grown ass man thinks to do it.

Obviously stated, this movie was not my cup of tea. Again, it has nothing to do with it being an older movie, as I said before, I enjoy other movies from the 1960’s.

I don’t really understand how people like it as much as they do, but that’s okay. I don’t have to.

I can at least now say that I’ve seen it, I understand what people are talking about, I know all the references they are making.

And maybe I’ll meet someone someday who will be able to explain to me why they think it’s a great masterpiece.

Until then, this is just another check off my list.

🙂

Leave a Reply

