We Are the Masses!

people

We have more power than I think we know. Or perhaps we do know, we’re just too lazy to do anything about it.

I’m leaning more towards the latter.

But I think that if we really want things to change, the power lies 100% in our hands. You might not think so, but must I remind you that WE ARE THE MASSES? We out number every department in Congress combined…times ten.

So I think we should practice first on something small. Like the Kardashians. We –as the masses- decide her popularity.

If you have people stop buying their products, watching their shows, reading magazines with them on it, stop following them on Twitter… I think you can see where I’m going with this.

And this can’t be like 20 people, this has to be 20 billion. Which I’m sure we could do if we really wanted to. But if 20 billion people shut out the Kardashians… they would go away. Why? Because no one would care about them anymore. Again, this is going to take more than just 20 people. But use your imaginations for a second and think about that. We can unite to change something like that. And we really can. Why? Because we’re the masses.

Now, I need to put out this disclaimer: What you are about to read is MY OPINION. YOU DO NOT HAVE TO AGREE. THIS IS JUST ANOTHER VIEW ON THE WORLD. I AM NOT FORCING YOU TO CHANGE YOUR OPINION(S).

Okay, now that’s taken care of. Which I have to say is really sad that I have to put that up there, because everyone is crazy sensitive about everything. I mean, people got mad over a CUP. Like, really? That’s all you had to do that day? Why not focus that energy on bringing awareness to starving children in other countries. But no, it was over a cup. First world problems, amiright?

Anyway, back to my point.

So, the touchy subject is minimum wage.

Do I think it should be raised – yes. To what amount has yet to be argued. So, before we get into the nitty gritty, let me explain a few things.

In PA, the minimum wage is $7.25. The cost of living is $9.95.

That being said, yes, I think we should have our minimum wage increased. It would have to be AT THE VERY LEAST $10 for PA.

The minimum wage in NY is $8.75. The cost of living in NY is $14.30.

Do I think they should have their minimum wage raised, yes. Unless you’ve been living under a rock, we all know that living in NY is expensive. In order for New Yorkers to make ends meet, they obviously need more than the cost of living.

Alright, so where am I going with this?

We are rapidly approaching Black Friday. Somehow we manage to spend BILLIONS of dollars on Black Friday.

How can that be if we are complaining that we can barely make ends meet and need higher wages?

I know people might argue that there’s layaway and credit cards, but that’s not enough to explain BILLIONS.

Here is my grand scheme. It’s a wild one, so just roll with it for a second.

What if, on Black Friday, no one buys anything. I know, impossible, right? And perhaps it is, but let’s think about this.

If not a single person buys anything on Black Friday, and we (as a country) make the stand that we can’t afford to shop on Black Friday because we don’t have the extra money to do it. We are barely making ends meet as it is. So, we’re not going to buy anything.

Oh how the world would come crashing down!

Logically (and realistically), if you don’t have the money to buy something… you don’t buy something.

That’s how I was raised at least. I didn’t get a credit card until I was 26.

I managed to survive on that concept.

Okay, so let’s bring it back around.

No money. No Black Friday. Government takes notice. Why? BECAUSE WE ARE THE MASSES!

We actually HAVE THE POWER to NOT SHOP on Black Friday and make an impact.

Unfortunately, this will  never happen.

For one reason or another, people will continue to shop on Black Friday and spend BILLIONS and then turn around and cry poverty. Perhaps this is another reason why minimum wages aren’t raised. We give them STRONG EVIDENCE that we can survive perfectly fine on our $7.25 an hour pay.

Leave a Reply

