Walking the Fine Line

SONY DSCThrough life , we figure out how to handle certain situations. When you’re at a funeral you say, “My condolences,” and when at a wedding you say, “Congratulations!”

But there are some situations that you can’t plan for; that you don’t know how to respond to. And I am currently in a situation that makes me feel like I’m walking a tight rope. I’m trying to hard to get through the days and the weeks without falling, and I have to admit, it’s quite tiring. I’m exhausted at the end of the day!

What am I talking about? Well, it’s sort of hard to even describe. I’ll try my best though. We’ll use work, because… I don’t know the whole world works.

You start a new job, and there’s always office politics and drama. So you have to learn how to maneuver through all of it. And there’s always two cliques that are against each other for one reason or another.

How do you walk the line between them?

You have to work with all the people there, so you’re going to have to talk and interact with people from both sides. How do you remain neutral?

Now, I know most of you say: “Well just don’t talk to either of them. Find a third group to talk to, or just don’t say anything at all.”

And I understand that. I’ve learned to just stay quiet most of the time. But there are times -no matter what- that I have to speak with all of these people. Furthermore, it’s not in my personality to stay completely quiet all day. I need some human interaction at some point or another.

If you are thinking, “Well, who cares! Talk to who you want to and don’t pay attention to the drama.”

Again, I completely understand. But, I have to work with these people 40 hours a week. It’s kind of important to remain neutral, because if you think that someone can’t make your life a living hell – I don’t know what world you live in!

I’m trying to do everything I can to ensure no one thinks I’m on one side or the other – that I’m just there.

So I walk the tight rope every day. I start at home and walk the line until I return home from work. It’s truly exhausting and there are times when I look at the clock and see that it’s 2:30 p.m. and I don’t even know how I’ve made it this far, but the last 2 1/2 hours are going to be the longest.

I just continue moving along the best as I can and pray that I don’t fall.

Leave a Reply

