Screenwriting Class (#29)

I was browsing Groupon one day, and I saw a Groupon for a Screenwriting Course. My mind immediately thought, “Why not?”

Thus, it came to be that taking the course would make it to my list.

First and foremost, I was not paid to take this course nor was I paid to write a review on this course. Also, Groupon has no idea that I have mentioned them so it’s safe to say I wasn’t paid by Groupon to use their name in this post.

Moving on…

The course was for Industrial Scripts. There, they have a whole list of other courses and services to use for your screenplays.

The course is completed at your own pace. So there are no deadlines for anything – unless you set one for yourself.

For the course that I took, there were 29 lessons. Like any course, you begin with the basics on learning about screenwriting, how they are written into acts, certain lingo to use while writing, etc. At the end, you will learn about how to pitch your script, who agents are and what they do, and some pointers on how to not look like an amateur.

Personally, I really liked taking it. I started to view movies in a different manner. In fact, it almost started to ruin movies for me, because I saw them as scenes and acts verses a visual story. Notice how I said ‘almost’ ruined them. I still love movies and can watch them with ease, so don’t think you’re going to be scarred for life.

But you will start to see things differently. You will start to look at the names of the screenwriters and directors, because they now take on a different meaning for you. You will begin to see that this isn’t just a movie, but rather lines written by one person, and interpreted by another (the actor) and shot in a specific manner by another person (the director). The course also uses movies as examples so you can at least understand what they are talking about. There’s one point where they use the script for Ocean’s Eleven, and while you are looking at lines, and playing the scene in your head, you begin to realize that before George Clooney or Julia Roberts ever auditioned, there was someone who envisioned all of this and the whole story.

Overall, I think it’s a very interesting course, and I would recommend it to anyone who is into screenwriting or even writing in general. The course does tackle some of the basics of storytelling, so even if you’re a novelist, you will still walk away with some substantial knowledge on writing.

I will say that if you buy directly from the site, it is a bit expensive. But, like I said, you are getting a great deal of knowledge. Or, you can do what I did and wait for a Groupon to take advantage of it.

But for those of you who do take the course, I’m sure you will not be disappointed.

Happy writings!

Leave a Reply

