Make a Picture Frame Tray (#21)

This tray has taken me YEARS!

Want to know why? Because I’m awful at measuring and even worse with a drill.

I got this idea from Pinterest, which is basically where everything I do comes from.

It started out as something simple. Find a picture frame. Drill some holes in the frame to attach handles. Decorate and/or spray paint tray and enjoy.

I’ve gone through about 5 frames.

I know, I know. You’re thinking, “How can you screw that up?!” Trust me, it’s easier said than done. The frame that I wanted was a tad bit more complex than I thought. And don’t let the pictures deceive you… it’s difficult.

So, what did I do?

Well, I bought glue and glued the fuckers on instead.

Works just as well! I will admit that I’m afraid the glue is going to wear out and the minute I’m carrying something extremely breakable…. the glue will give and there goes grandma’s porcelain coffee cups.

I DID use industrial strength glue though… so *fingers crossed* it’ll stick.

The frame and handles were purchased at Walmart. The picture has a fabric square in it from fabric that I bought from Jo-Anns. I bought a large amount of fabric for another project, and since I had some left over, I decided to use it for the tray. So, it works out nicely because the tray and my other project match perfectly! It sort of almost kinda brings the room together.

Anyway, if anyone out there is going to try this… I would definitely recommend going the gluing way. It’s a hell of a lot easier than trying to find tools (in case you don’t have any), and going through frames (in case you suck at it like I do). If you’re set on drilling the holes, then by all means – go for it!

Honestly though, it’s a craft that you can do in all of 15 minutes. It takes about a day for the glue to dry, but putting it all together… about 15 minutes. It’s a great way to fancy up the place a bit without really trying.

But finally! I now have my tray!

Leave a Reply

