An Open Letter to My Old 29 Yr. Old Self

bee20post8Dear Old 29 Yr. Old Self:

You’ve had quite the year! You left one job and started at another. You also celebrated your first anniversary of marriage and went to the Bahamas! You also ended the year by watching Trump get elected into office. And I don’t know when it happened, but at some point, you matured a bit and grew up a little bit more.

But if I have to be honest with you, I’m a little bit disappointed. Most of my years, I’ve been slaying it. And 29, I don’t know what happened, but you slacked… a lot! You barely blogged! What’s that all about? You seemed to have lacked the ambition and motivation that you normally have. I understand you’re the last of the 20’s so you think you can slack off, but you can’t. You’re supposed to end with a bang, not an ‘eh.’

Now, I will say that yes – you got yourself into school. That’s really great, because it’s a step in the right direction. However, you lacked the strength and confidence that I know is in there somewhere. What happened to that? Where did it go? What changed all of a sudden? And don’t say, “I got old,” because that’s seriously not an excuse. I had high hopes for you. Twenty-eight year old me had a rockin’ year and you had some pretty big shoes to fill. But you were supposed to OVER-fill them. You’re supposed to overflow with everything great and better in the year.

I want you to stay around because you’re the last of my twenties, but I’m sort of happy to see you go. I have a chance to become better again. I thank you for your time, and I am sad to see you go in a way. But you half-assed this year and you need to really think about that.

So goodbye 29 Year Old Self, your chapter has ended.

Love,

Jessica

Leave a Reply

