Here’s the Thing

So, I’m not going to lie… it’s been a while since I’ve posted. And there’s a particular reason for that…. because I didn’t want to.

Now, I know that might sound obvious (and lazy), but hear me out. Usually when I blog, I write the blog, find pictures, use tags, enter in any links to anything I referenced in case someone wanted to know more, and categories. And for some reason, this began to stress me out.

I would spend at least an hour looking for a picture that I liked and could use and/or modify, and then I had to make sure I had tags in there, I had to hunt down websites that I might have referenced, and I wanted to have a category picked because, well, you need to categorize things.

And all of a sudden, it became a burden. It was no longer the reason why I started blogging in the first place. In the first place, I did it because I needed an outlet and this was it. It started back in the good ol’ days of Dead Journal (I’m not linking it, you can Google it yourself) when I just wanted to get my thoughts out and they had a very simple concept, pick your mood, write, and then post. If you wanted to go crazy with anything else, you could. But I usually never did. Then I remember that I found out I could add pictures to my journal, but you had to view the HTML side of things and use characters like ‘<‘ and ‘\’. You had to ‘start’ and ‘finish’ the whole plug-in thing. I know, it was rough back then. I’m sure most of you are thinking, “Oh my God, how could she NOT know coding,” and let me tell you – it didn’t matter. It wasn’t a THING back then… we lived in simpler times.

Anyway, so I would blog and post, and occasionally add pictures and then, it became years of using it. Flash forward to about 2011 when I started at Word Press (if you’re here, you have the link, I’m not linking it), it was because I wanted to start writing again. I was reading others’ blogs and I wanted to write my own too and take down all my thoughts on the world. And then at some point – I don’t know when – it became this WERID CRAZY FAD, like EVERYONE had a blog and then you had to find cute little templets, fonts, pictures, some times even video! And at that point, it became a competition.

So now, instead of just getting my thoughts out, I now had to find a prettier layout with all kinds of colors and fonts, I had to start posting pictures (because if you want more traffic, you have to use pictures), and start using tags (because if you want people to find your blog you have to use SEO), and that’s how I ended up here.

If you’ve made it this far, I’m proud of you. You have continued to do what people have forgotten to do with blogs – READ! But not just any kind of reading, reading without pictures, or sparkly words, or selfies of myself in just these perfect poses with perfect hair and make up.

THIS RIGHT HERE what you are reading is what blogging is SUPPOSED to be like. It’s not supposed to be this money hungry, DIY doing, social competition.

Which brings me to this… I have decided that in my heart of all hearts, I really do miss blogging, but I miss the old kind of blogging. So I’m not going to put any fancy pictures, tags, hyperlinks, sparkly letters, or glamour shots of myself on here. I’m just going to give you my writing and you can take it or leave it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

